Hajime Yatate

By Jenxi Seow



Hajime Yatate (矢立 肇 Yatate Hajime) is a collective pen name for Sunrise, Inc. animation staff used to credit their contributions.[foot]“Ask John: Who is Hajime Yadate?”. AnimeNation. 5 June 2003.[/foot]

The origin of the name comes from a quote of Oku no Hosomichi by Matsuo Bashō:[foot]Basho’s Narrow Road. Tr. Hiroaki Sato. Stone Bridge Press, 1996.[/foot]

Kore o yatate no hajime toshite, Ikumichi naho susumazu
This was the first time I used my travel writing implements, and I was still reluctant to venture farther.

The group is credited as the original creator for most of Sunrise’s original works.


Gundam series

Non-Gundam mecha series

  • Trider G7 (1980)
  • Aura Battler Dunbine (1983)
  • Mashin Hero Wataru (1988)
  • Infinite Ryvius (1999)
  • Z-Mind (1999)
  • Code Geass (2006)

Non-mecha series

  • Yoroiden Samurai Troopers AKA Ronin Warriors (1988)
  • Cowboy Bebop (1998)
  • Gintama (2006)
  • Sacred Seven (2011)
  • Love Live! (2013)
  • Love Live! Sunshine!! (Season 2, 2017)

External links